Thursday, 19 May 2022


MDC-T led by Senator Douglas Mwonzora has denied that it was trying to impose candidates ahead of the party’s elective congress next month after the party leader reshuffled the technical and political leadership on Tuesday.

The exercise, the party said, was in line with a National Council resolution that mandated party leader Sen Mwonzora to reshuffle the technical and political leadership positions “in order to reinvigorate the party so as to prepare for the ordinary congress at full capacity.”

“There is nothing amiss about fulfilling constitutional obligations of filling in positions for the full functionality of the party at any given time, including during it’s preparations for a national congress,” said party spokesperson Mr Witness Dube.

Mr Elias Mudzuri was retained as the party’s first vice-president while Mr Chief Ndlovu, who replaced Ms Thokozani Khuphe as the party’s second vice-president also retained his post.

The national chairman remains Mr Morgan Komichi with Ms Paurina Mpariwa taking the secretary-general’s post and will have Mr Tapuwa Mashakada as her deputy. Mr Komichi will be deputised by retired major Giles Mutsekwa. Dr Tichivanani Matevera was mandated with taking care of the party’s finances as the treasurer-general while Mr Witness Dube was retained as the secretary for information and publicity.

The organising secretary’s post went to Mr Rhino Mashaya with Ms Dorothy Ndlovu taking the assembly of women leadership.

Ms Yvonne Musarurwa is the youth assembly chairperson while Mr Gift Chimanikire and Mr Vincent Tsvangirai were appointed secretaries in the president’s office.

Other appointees are Mr Gandhi Mudzingwa (secretary for elections), Ms Sibusisiwe Masara and Mr Khaliphani Pugeni (Deputy secretaries for elections), Mr Shacky Mukoyi (secretary for security), Ms Faith Musarurwa (secretary for Local Government), Ms Sphiwe Banda-Muchenje (Deputy secretary for Local Government), Mr Tangwara Matimba (secretary for mobilisation), Mr Penial Denga (Deputy secretary for mobilisation), Dr Julius Musevenzi (secretary for policy and research), Advocate Isabel Simango (secretary for gender), Mr Brian Dube (deputy treasurer general), Mr Festus Dumbu (deputy secretary Information and Publicity), Dube Mukombwe and Benevolence Taisekwa (deputy organising secretaries). Chronicle


Post a Comment