Tuesday, 30 August 2016


Ten suspects from Epworth accused of public violence against police roadblocks last month were yesterday removed from remand. This followed failure by the State to provide them with a trial date. 

Magistrate Mr Tendai Mahwe advised the prosecutor, Mr Peter Kachirika, to proceed by way of summons when ready for trial.The 10 are Luckson Bamusi (22), Simbarashe Tiyanane (20), Madanhi Fachi (24), Wellington Mugule (41) and Everson Jonasi (26). Others are Knowledge Chipitso (24), Sylvester Dhlamini (32), Terrence Muronda (25), Luckmore Ruoko and Nyasha Hwema (30).

The other group of Shaun Bako and 50 others from Ruwa were remanded to September 22, while Tichaona Chikonya and 53 others from Epworth were remanded to September 23.
Both groups gave notice to apply for refusal of further remand on their next remand dates.
They were represented by Mr Jeremiah Bhamu from Zimbabwe Lawyers for Human Rights.

They are facing public violence charges. Mr Kachirika alleged that on July 4 this year police received a tip-off that protestors from the Greater Harare Association for Commuter Omnibus were demonstrating in Ruwa.

Police proceeded to the scene and saw the accused ferrying huge boulders using three vehicles.

They allegedly barricaded Mutare highway using the stones and were carrying placards written, “Usapinde mukombi kusvikira maporisa abva muroad” and “Hatineti kusvikira President abva”.

The police identified the accused who were stoning motorists, stopping commuter omnibuses and forcing passengers to disembark. The mob allegedly stoned the police and damaged their vehicle.

They destroyed property worth $500 000 , the court heard. The accused were later arrested.
It is alleged that Chikonya and 53 others from Epworth barricaded Chiremba Road at Chans Shops.

They also attacked the police and damaged property worth $1 000. herald


Post a Comment